Wyoming Researcher Joins Western National Parks Association Board

Tucson, Ariz.—John Lad Koprowski, dean and Wyoming Excellence Chair of the Haub School of Environmental and Natural Resources, University of Wyoming, has been appointed to the Western National Parks Association (WNPA) Board of Directors.

The board governs the nonprofit organization and serves as a WNPA ambassador articulating its message, mission and accomplishments to the public.

As a professor and researcher, Koprowski’s methods on conservation and management of biodiversity that embraces community involvement has been applied in the US, Mexico, Peru, Colombia, Nepal, China, Mongolia and South Africa, among other locations worldwide.

John Koprowski

The native Ohioan has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed articles and five books, most recently International Wildlife Management. He’s a fellow with the American Association of the Advancement of Science, The Wildlife Society and the Linnean Society of London.

He came to the University of Wyoming from the University of Arizona, where he was Director of the School of Natural Resources & the Environment since 2018 and a Professor of Wildlife Conservation & Management since 2000. At UA, he directed the Desert Southwest Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit and the Mt. Graham Biology Programs and held affiliations with the Institute of the Environment and the Genetics Interdisciplinary Degree Program.

“We at WNPA have long admired John’s accomplishments,” said WNPA Chief Executive Officer James E. Cook, who noted that WNPA recognized Koprowski by granting him the Emil W. Haury Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science in National Parks in 1999. “His deep knowledge of wildlife conservation and management, and his skills at involving community in those efforts will help our organization continue to grow and reach our goals.” Dr. Kowprowski was granted his very first science research grant from WNPA, then known as Southwest Parks and Monuments Association.

Learn more about the Western National Parks Association Board of Directors.